Appointment – Santa Clara Unit Chief


I am pleased to announce the appointment of Derek Witmer as the Santa Clara Unit Chief, effective November 1, 2013.

Chief Witmer’s 28 year fire service career began as a paid call firefighter with the Salispuedes Fire District in 1985.  He rose through the ranks to Fire Captain in 1994, and transitioned to CAL FIRE (then known as CDF) in 1996, when the Salispuedes and Freedom Fire Districts merged to form the Pajaro Valley Fire District.  He subsequently promoted to Battalion Chief in 2004, and then Division Chief in 2010, within the Santa Clara Unit.

In addition to his responsibilities as Unit Chief, he will also serve as the fire chief for the South Santa Clara County Fire District and the City of Morgan Hill.

Please join me in congratulating Chief Witmer on his new assignment.




Scroll to Top